Question time at the shops!

I am sure that people with children can totally relate to these ‘sayings’ and questions.  I get then.  A lot.  A. LOT.  It is almost like having four gives people the right to interrogate you, or pass on their commiserations, regarding them.

Here are some of my most common questions or statements; and my standard answers…

1.  Don’t you have a TV?

“What do you do in the commercials?”

“Yes but this (pointing to the triplets) happened because of rained out cricket and piss poor summer TV”

“Is a TV now a form of contraception?”

 

2.  Are they natural?

“Uhm, actually no – they are robots”

“Not really, they are mostly unnatural”

 

3.  You poor thing!

“Clearly I don’t see it that way…”

 

4.  Glad it’s you and not me

Yes, so am I as clearly you have no idea how magical it is to have four kids.

 

5.  Are they twins?

No, they are triplets.
Followed by a response of “How old are your twins”

“we are four, and we are triplets lady, there are three of us, triplets means three”  (Brendan, aged 4).

 

6.  Geez, your hands must be full.

Thanks for that Captain Obvious

 

7.  It must be good that they have someone to play with all the time.

If by playing you mean tormenting, arguing and bickering then sure.

 

Before the questions there is always looks.  Happened more so when they were much younger though.  Now I think people see four kids and don’t make the connection.  When they were babies (the triplets) people would open the muslin wraps covering their pram and peek in at them – who does that? 

I suspect I will have many more years of this to come.  And I can honestly say there have been very few times where I have been beyond angry about it.  One time, and I still remember this like it was yesterday, I had the trio in a trolley.  Yep all three.  They were just under 2.   I wanted to grab a gift in a home ware store so left them (where I could see them) at the door, and a lady who was walking by, came into the shop.  She was horrified.  She said ‘how can you leave them there like that?  It is so cruel, it is like they are animals how you have them in there”.  My response was so quick and maybe a little harsh – Lady, have you met my kids?  They are animals.  If I let them out of that ‘cage’ they will decimate this store in ten seconds”.  She then said I was lucky no one stole them.  Again, maybe a little harshly, I said, if they did, they would bring them right back here!  I get that people have had kids and have their views on how they should be raised.  But I don’t like or understand how people feel they need to tell me I am doing a good/bad or downright horrid job by caging them.  Some days I am just getting through the day, and what would be infinitely more helpful would be either saying nothing, or just a smile.  That is it! 

 

It is tough enough some days getting the kids safely into the shops, then there is all the distractions and attractions of the shops.  The incessant “Mum can I have….” and the “I’m hungry”.  Needless to say I give the kids fruit in Coles and get told off for either not washing it (seriously?!!!) or for clearly not feeding my kids at home enough.  I think some days that I am clearly doing the wrong thing by my kids.  I mean who feeds them fruit?!  Luckily, I don’t really take any notice of what is being said any more.  But I know that many times, my bad day with the kids (and by bad I mean spilled drinks, fights, flour everywhere, you get the idea) turns even worse when we hit the shops.

 

To pay it forward, for the past few months the kids and I have gone around to many of the local coffee shops.  We have a good relationship with them haha!  We have left free coffee cards (we have paid for them) to be used as they see fit.  For ANYONE having a clearly crap day.  The kids love it, and think it is such a nice thing.  Caitlyn even said, “Mummy, do you think they will love their coffee as much as you do?”  Love it!

So, this little family is hoping that we can give someone a smile when they are having a bad day.  Mum, Dad, anyone who is having a bad day!  Because honestly, as a society, even my kids know we should all be a little nicer.  So go out there and smile.  Randomly, (not crazily…) and be the difference in someones day.  Happy Friday!

 

 IMG_6954

 

7 thoughts on “Question time at the shops!

  1. I love this Ali. But then I always love all your blog posts. I will be the first to admit that while I feel like I have had Kira all my life, I did judge screaming children in shopping centers etc. But now, now I more or less don’t take much notice. After having the younger two so close, I had a few shopping center tantrums and people would stare and shake their heads. WHAT did they want me to do? Gag my girls? I know how I felt, that I now remember that and would hate to make another parent feel that way.

    I love that you are paying it forward, but then I am not shocked as your an amazing person, and now your children will follow in your amazing foot steps.

    Like

    • Haha! I often think gagging the kids is what people want!
      Thankyou for your lovely comments – they mean a lot!
      Paying it forward is fun! Hope the kids leant a few good things off of me!

      Like

  2. Reblogged this on Multiverse Madness and commented:
    Here are the others Ali… 🙂

    8. Are they girls ( when both are dressed in Blue) or vice versa

    9. How do you tell them apart? Ummm they are non ID

    10. Was the pregnancy twice as long?

    11. How do you do it?

    12. How can I have Twins?

    13. Were they IVF?

    14. Did you plan this?

    I’m sure there are more out there as well. lol.
    Great blog!

    Like

  3. All so true Ali! I had a girl, then 12 months and 9 days later I had a boy. 2 children who couldn’t walk yet, but at very different stages. That was hard enough for me, so it put me off having any more kids. We sold all the baby gear, and then 4 years later I decided I wanted another… Whoops! So now we have a 5 year gap, and my biggies are amazing with the toddler… although I always reminds them they’re helpers and teachers, but not bosses.
    My brother and sister are twins (3 years younger than me) and Mum didn’t cope very well at all. I remember having to help out a lot and do things that 3 yo shouldn’t really have to do. I grew up thinking I was one of their bosses (and treating them that way), which meant they didn’t really like me. All those years wasted because I was so bossy. Once I learned it wasn’t the case (which only happened at about 20’ish after I had lived out of home for a while), I realised just how amazing my sister really is, and we’ve been best friends ever since. Everyone’s story is different. Everyone’s story is special. Everyone’s story has tear jerking moments, as well as comedic ones. How blessed we all are… Why should anyone bother comparing or judging?!
    Thanks for the post, and for letting me release some thoughts too 🙂

    Like

    • Wow!
      What an experience. You’ve hit the nail on the head with everyone’s story being special! I love what you’ve written because it’s quite clear you have an amazing insight to so many aspects of motherhood and sibling hood!
      I’m so glad you and you’re sister are great friends!

      Like

  4. Oh Ali we would so get along. Sounds like our lives are very similar. I have posted on what people have said to us over the years also. Amazing ongoing commentary isn’t it? Although your responses are so much more clever. If you are ever in Adelaide, you are most welcome to look me up. You don’t even have to give me a fortnights notice so I can get the house in order. I have a feeling, you would accept us just as we are & feel comfortable in the crazy chaos. Have an excellent day great mum. You are doing just fabulous! Kate M xoxo

    Like

    • Hey Kate! Oh we so would get on! And you crack me up about not needing notice – I am exactly the same! Thank you for your lovely comment, I really appreciate it. When we head to the beautiful Adelaide again I will come a knocking! xo

      Like

Leave a Reply

