Blog Hop with a Difference :)

Last week, the lovely Lauren from Love Life Lauren invited me to be a part of a blog hop with a difference.  It is a series of short questions designed to get to know ‘me’ and see some further blogs to go to.  I feel very special being a part of this. So here goes 🙂

1.  What am I working on right now?

Well, I am completing this on Sunday, so right now I am getting ready for the school week by cooking up all the lunch box treats.  It is also our turn in the Play Dough roster at Kindy, so here are our efforts for Play Dough.

IMG_6679

In terms of creativity, I am working on my Project Life, 2014.  I love this concept!  I completed the full year of 2013 and love looking back at it and seeing how much we have all grown, and all the seemingly ‘little’ things we would have missed had I not documented them.  I am very simple in terms of my pages.  I generally do a week to a two page spread.  I also use pretty much exclusively my iPhone 5s for all photos.  It works a treat!

IMG_6691 IMG_6692 IMG_6688 IMG_6689

2. How long does it take to complete a project? 

This varies really with other distractions!  I like to keep up to date, but this year, with my husband working away, I have found I am about 4 weeks behind in PL.  I am ok with this, because I am not seeing it as a chore, rather a treat!  In saying that, I can deliberate about photos for a while, and a week might take me an hour!  I have simplified my process by purchasing a Picturemate – a decision prompted by my closest photo lab changing from wet to dry and the quality becoming trite!  So now I am using the Picutremate and loving the quality and convenience!  I can’t say it has helped me keep up to date, but I can say it has simplified my process. 

To answer the question properly, if there is just a two page spread 40 mins to an hour.  If there is an insert, maybe an hour and a half!  It can take me longer if *I try* to incorporate digital as I am a bit gumby at using it!

3. What are my favourite things to create with at the moment?

Right now I am loving the Stampin Up! PL kits and accessories.  They are so cute!  I also love stamps from the wonderful Kellie at Give a Girl a Blog, and Brush Scripted Cards by the talented Jodie from Polka Dot Creative.

I am also using the beautiful white rounded corners that the incredibly amazing Petra Corcoran has made a video for.  I am loving the look of them in my album!  The tutorial was done for Polka Dot Creative and can be found here.

IMG_6695

You can see I have not yet perfected the 3 x 4’s, but am getting better!

4.  How does my creative process work?

I really try to think about the memory or event I am trying to record.  Sometimes I do a trial run on my journalling so I know I won’t run out of room.  Other times, I just wing it.  I do rely heavily on inspiration from IG, and from the lovely people who share their pages on Facebook in the various PL groups.

IMG_6694

I have all weeks (so that I am up to date) marked out with a post it with dates.  Makes it easier for me to correlate photos if I am behind.  Now I am printing them as I go and adding in my journalling etc. 

5. How do I become inspired and stay inspired?

Simple – I want to remember this crazy time of our lives.  I will never get this time back again.  For me PL solves that.  I don’t scrapbook as much as I would like as I am time poor, but I still occasionally crack out a page – and it is for the same reasons!  I want my kids to remember the time we had dessert for tea.  Or when we went camping and had sausages on bread for tea because ‘that’s what you eat after a safari’ (Says Emma, then aged 3).  My PL and scrapbooking pages is not solely about our family, rather our lives.  So all those that touch them are generally included!

6. What is my signature style?

To be honest, I don’t think I have one.  I have always been one who does well with instructions or kits.  And that is because I am not great at using embellishments ‘well’ or coordinating papers well!  I try, and I guess that is my style!

So, that really is a little about me.  I totally forgot to ask others to be a part of this, and feel bad asking them on a Sunday night…but here are four superstar Aussie chicks who rock at creating things and who inspire me!

Jodie York

Kellie Winnell

Petra Corcoran

Sue Ko

Thanks for having a look at what I do 🙂

Leave a Reply

