When I grow up…

This question and statement seems to be making its way around our little family right now.  “When I grow up I am going to….” and it is so amazing looking at their faces when they realise that they really can do anything.  The possibilities, right now, as a 7 year old and an almost 4 year old, are seemingly endless.

Currently, and for the past few years, Hayden wants to be a paleontologist on the weekdays and a Veterinarian on the weekends.  The weekend work is ‘to help the animals’ and to have a ‘place where people can bring their pets and I won’t make them pay so they can have pets that are not going to get sick’.  He also wants to invent something to get rid of the paralysis tick on dogs and cats – “like mozzie spray but better Mum”.  Gorgeous, and I totally hope he does!

Now the trio are hilarious when they talk about ‘being grown up’.  Unlike Hayden, they think of what they can do without getting into ‘trouble’.  So they want to – drive, get a job (a job anywhere Mum, just need money to buy stuff), and not go to bed when they are told too but when they want.  Yep, a collective voice on the bedtime by the trio.  Hilarious.  Emma does want to be a ghostbuster though, and Caitlyn a princess.  B is still undecided – either a fire man or a police man.  The think about being ‘growed up’ a lot and are always asking me things like “when I am 10 will you still tell me I have to go to bed?”  Or, “When I am a big girl, ah, about 12, can I pick what I want for tea every night?”

Makes me wonder what is so bad about sleep!  I am sure, one day, they will realise how amazing sleep is, probably when they are parents in all reality.  Now there is a scary thought!

Getting back to when I grow up.  The kids often get asked “what does your mummy and daddy do?”  Fair question.  So for me, they say ‘mummy is a nurse and a teacher’.  Both professions I take great pride in.  I suppose though, for some kids, a nurse is pretty boring and not the ‘bestest’.  My kids tell me sometimes about how one of their friends parents is a ‘big boss’, or a ‘truck driver’.  Both are apparently very cool, and the kids have a bit of a pecking order about this.  They have even asked me several times ‘do you drive trucks when you are at work?’ or ‘do you boss people around a lot to get them to do things’ in effort to see how what I does compares to what their friends parents do.

I get asked if I want my kids to be a nurse.  My honest answer – I want my kids to do what they want to do.  We have to work for such a large portion of our lives, so it should be in a profession or field that we are passionate about.  I don’t mind at all what they grow into job wise, but I do mind about who they grow up to be.  Right now, my most important job is making sure that these kids know that they are not the centre of the universe and that their actions affect others.  That they have to work at things to improve, be kind and respectful, and importantly, patient in achieving their goals.  They have to listen, and not just hear.

When you are handed your newborn baby, you see this tiny little miracle that you made and someone who has heard your heart beat on the inside.  Your biggest job is to feed, clothe and bathe them early on.  Then the needs change.  You become someone who can make ouchies all better again, bake the best cookies in all the universes, and know exactly what your child needs.  You know all the words to “Let it Go”, and can name all the Disney Characters in under 2 minutes flat.  You live off of next to no sleep. Your payment is in huggies and kisses, laughter and your hair being brushed by strong fisted four year olds.  But watching them grow – that is priceless.  Watching their personalities emerge is amazing and still blows me away when they talk about things they want to do.

I have no idea what any of my kids will ‘be’ when they grow up, and I don’t know how much of the ‘who’ they are will influence that. I just know that right now, they can do anything, be anyone, and most of all, they can dream.

My four...Photo by the amazing Kate Scott at Baby Boo Photos

My four…Photo by the amazing Kate Scott at Baby Boo Photos

 

 

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “When I grow up…

  1. ❤ Gorgeous as always xxx….. and just to add.. I think being a nurse is a way cool profession!….. Evie thinks that having Mum as a Pre-school teacher is pretty cool! (I often get kids at work tell me they wish their mum worked at pre-school too!)

    Like

  2. Such a sweet and thoughtful post Ali!!! I was only having similar thoughts this week when my Lilly got her school report. She has done so well this year as in previous years and is learning so much, and doing better than expected. But school smarts is not the measure of all things. What I like even more is that she is respectful, thoughtful and tries her best no matter what… These qualities will bring her success as she grows up – not whether she can skip count, or write the perfect description. Being a mother is such a fruitful, frustrating, agonising, and rewarding journey – but one we would do over and over again just for one kiss and cuddle!!

    Like

  3. Oh Al, I love this so much. I love the minds of children. You inspire me to keep more records of my kids conversations. Thank you gorgeous for sharing the minds of your babes. xo

    Like

  4. A year or two ago Mr 9 wanted to be drive a juice van so he could have juice whenever he wanted. And Mr 6 wanted to be a punk — he has been asking me lately what i would like him to be when he grows up. Seeking approval starts so early doesn’t it? Do we ever stop seeking approval from our parents in some way or another? I just want them to be happy and and proud of themselves.

    Like

Leave a Reply

