The Liebster Award

This is the second time I have been nominated for this lovely award – the first time round I just never got to doing the post….oops…but I was nominated by the lovely Teddy at Multitask Momma.  This time I have been nominated by the lovely Jodie at Polkadot Creative.  I had the absolute pleasure of meeting Jodie in the flesh last week at the Project Life Party in Sydney with Becky Higgins and Crafthouse.  It was an amazing day to say the least!  And now I digress!! 

 

The Liebster Award is a way of finding new blogs and generally high fiving the blogging world.  I have to say I don’t blog as much as maybe I should, so the acknowledgement of something as lovely as this is very kind!  The premise is to pass on 10 questions to the new blogs, and to answer 10 questions from the person who nominated you.  

I will answer both lots of questions though – as I feel slack for taking so long for Teddy!

Teddy’s Questions –

  1. What made you decide to start blogging?

Mainly to keep a visual and easily acessible diary for the kids.  Life gets busy, and often I am in front of a computer so it makes sense.  It is quite cathartic some times getting some of the parenting ‘stuff’ out – makes me feel a little more ‘normal’ when people comment about how they face the same issues!

  1. If you could have one wish (one only) what would you wish for?

I would have to say ending the poverty cycle.

  1. What is one thing you want for your children when they grow up?

I want for them to feel safe and supported enough to reach for their dreams and fight to keep them.

  1. What is the most memorable moment in your life?

Marriage, childbirth – hands down.

  1. Do you hope that your children will read your blog one day?

I do – because it will give them a snapshot of our family and their little idiosyncrasies.

  1. What is your favorite season? why?

Spring – flowers!

  1. If you could travel anywhere in the world where would you go? why?

This one is tough as I could go back to so many places.  New York to live, and the rest of the world to visit!

  1. What is your favorite food? color? animal?

Favourite food – coffee!  Then it would bread.  Colour – Teal/aqua and animal – Dog

  1. Which TV show or movie best describes your life?

I don’t think one would do me justice haha!

  1. If you had enough to buy the one thing you have always wanted, what would you buy?

Sleep – in four hour blocks!  Seriously – I want for nothing.

  1. What is one thing that you missed that you could go back and see?

My dad. 

 

And now for the lovely lovely Jodie’s questions –

1) What inspires you this month?

Change of season, the lovely dew in the mornings, the renewed energy of the kids with not so much humidity.  Meeting crafty peeps at the PLA day!

2) What is a personal achievement you have had that you are most proud of?

Hands down my kids.  I mean I made them!  Other than that, it would be small things that mean a great deal to me – sporting awards and achievements and professional accolades like teacher of the year, sportswomen of the year, rookie of the year etc

3) What is one thing that you are too afraid to do but would love to try?

Writing.  For real – and believing in myself to be able to do it.

4) Do you believe in fate?

Absolutely.

5) Do you love to be around people or prefer your own company?

Mix of both.  Life is busy and sometimes it is so tiring that I just crave a night in.

6) Why do you like blogging?

I find it gives me release.  I can write about anything that is weighing on my mind and sometimes it can feel quite cathartic.  My being brave was a tough one to write, I think I was crying on proof.  I love the community I am finding of bloggers, and I love the kick out of someone who comments to me about how they loved my post or read it out to someone.  I am a nerd!

7) The one word your best friend would use to describe you.

Generous.

8) Do you work best late at night or early in the morning?

Both because I am generally doing both!

9) Are you a ‘dance on the coffee table’ or prefer to discretely tap your foot to the beat?

Discreet – I am not coordinated at all!

10) Favourite creative tool?

My thoughts, a PL core kit and pinterest!

 

I am now supposed to ask questions and recommend blogs – the blogs I have listed below are amazing ones that I have stumbled on over the past two years that I have been reading or who have been kind enough to comment or read my blog –

Jodie York of Polkadot Creative – Amazingly real, and incredibly talented lady who blogs about craft, family and is just so positive and real!

Teddy from Multitask Momma – Honest, open and funny insight into the world of motherhood

Tamar from Tarisota – I have been reading Tamar’s blog for around 6 years now, it is full of crafty goodness as well as day to day things that resonate with me

Kellie from Give a Girl a Blog – Kellie is super talented and I love reading about her craft ideas and day to day posts, she also organises unique community style swaps – her current one is happening now – the mug swap – it makes the very large world seem even smaller!

Kristin – from Rukristin Papercrafts – I stumbled across her blog last year for the #30 lists – I love her raw posts, and her focus on journalling in any form and memory keeping.

Ronnie – from Pink Ronnie – I love her effortless photography and gorgeous photos.  Her blog is a visual smorgasbord of family, life and memory keeping.  Love it!

Melissa – from One Crafty Mumma – another long time blog that I have read for over 5 years.  All sorts of cooking, crafting and photographic eye candy!

I am pretty boring because the remaining blogs I read have already been mentioned…so sorry!  If you want to really have an interesting read, get off social media and get into some new blogs! 

Happy Tuesday!

 

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

  1. I really enjoyed reading your answers Ali. They say so much about who you really are and I am so glad I finally got to meet you last week. X

    Like

  2. Pingback: Liebster Award | See Shel

  3. Hey gorgeous, you deserve this nomination. You are amazing, funny, real, honest and totally resplendent. Take it away sister. xoxo

    Like

  4. I can’t wait to go back and read your blog Ali. Well done on your nomination Ali, I think you’re just amazing. x

    Like

  5. I can’t wait to go back and read your blog Ali. Well done on your nomination, I think you are just amazing. x

    Like

Leave a Reply

