This Guy –> Hayden!

My little fella and all around little buddy is growing up – quickly!  He is an amazing little boy (I guess all parents say that though) who is older than his years (all of six!!).  He has a very astute insight into our world, and often comments on things that I just did not think he would understand.  He is quick witted (Jase was just trash talking one day – his response – “yeah?  Well you’re a mother duck with ducklings” still cracks me up! 

He has achieved so much already in his life and words cannot express how proud I am of him, nor how much I love this little dude.  My little monkey biscuit, who has heard my heart from the inside – who still holds my hand because he knows I love it. 

 

This is a little dude, who had the arrival of not one but *three* siblings all at once.  He was three (their age now!) when they arrived and I did not get one tantrum.  Even now the kid has more patience than I do some days.  He said the other day when they were ganging up on me “Don’t worry mum, they go to bed soon”!!!  I had to laugh!  If you have met the trio, you know that they are not naughty or malicious in their play – it is always about fun and games.  They just outnumber me and tend to take things that step further.  And are cheeky.  And then some. 

So Hayden finished up school the other day – he has been at school now for two years!  Prep and Grade 1!!

Image

(This photo is part of my December Daily and I have used the Ali Edward’s templates and photoshop)

I think I had a few tears on his last day.  He has grown so much this year – both socially and academically.  He is reading at an advanced level – not because we push it on him, but because he loves it.  He loves learning, and loves being able to find the information in books and adding them to his “Brain Library”.  He has completed a year of Joey Scouts and has loved the camaraderie and team work associated with it.  His teacher was in love with him – yep really.  We asked him what he wanted to get her for a thank you present – He did think about it and came back with flowers.  His reason “Mrs C loves them and I don’t think she would get them very often as she is here so much, so I think that it would be a very nice gift”.  Good call little buddy!

 

In this year alone, Hayden has lost four teeth (two in the last week) and grown around 10 cms.  He has increased his vocabulary ten fold, and has grown ‘up’ so much.  He is still such a little boy in some ways, then in others, so grown up.  He knows what money is and how some people have ‘enough’ and others ‘not enough’.  He understands that some things are very expensive.  He is amazing.  He saw a remote control helicopter that he desperately wanted when he was about 4/5 and we said no.  He worked out why we said no when he saw the price – $500!!  His comment ‘Now I understand why you and Daddy said no”!!.

 

Image

He lost his first top tooth (courtesy of a bang on the water slide – so much cheaper than the dentist!!) while we were camping.  He lost his second top tooth Friday night!

Image

Sometimes, when we are out and about, Hayden gets overlooked as he is not one of the triplets.  People want to talk to them and not him.  Those people are missing out, because Hayden is very much a part of the triplets.  He is their big brother and has an indescribable and unbreakable bond with each of them!  Hayden knows *everything* about them as much as I do sometimes!  He knows when they fed, and how I fed them!  I am personally not a big fan of the questions when I am out – I cannot tell you how many times I have been asked if they are ‘natural’ (to which I commonly retort – no they are robots) or if I am sure they are triplets as they are not identical.  A good one (which even Hayden was laughing AT the person about the other day) recently was “Are you sure they are triplets, they only look like twins”.  Uhm, yep, am sure – three babies, three placentas….go figure.  I did not answer at first (if you can’t say anything nice, don’t say it…) and Hayden answered.  He said ‘Excuse me (love that he uses manners!), Triplets are three, not two.  Twins is only two babies’.  The person quickly walked away.  Wit like his mumma right there 🙂

I can’t wait to see more and watch more of the person Hayden is growing into.  He is amazing already – and I know that he will hang on to his bottle of awesome sauce!  He will always be a big brother, and I think he will always be a brilliant one.  He is protective, kind and incredibly patient – without being asked to be.  He knows it is not his job to herd triplets, or ‘look after’ them – but he does it from time to time; and always when we are crossing roads etc.  He is a caring little soul, who has so much life experience already it astounds me!  It is bittersweet watching your kids grow up – part of you always wants them to be the little boy who always wanted to hold your hand, and sang to you, while the other part can’t wait to see ‘what is next’. 

 

He is still so little in a few ways – he still sleeps with Doby, and I still have to sing him a lullaby every night.  He won’t go to sleep without either.  He also still has to have a nightlight.  But his room changes so much – out with Thomas, in with Skylanders.  The dinosaurs are still there, and then there are the books. Everywhere.  Everywhere!

It is his seventh Christmas this year – and each year it is more exciting for him.  I want that wonder, excitement and joy to stick around for a long time!  He has a list this year (so cute, handwritten!) that consists of –

A remote controlled spider

A remote controlled snake

A remote controlled dinosaur

Minecraft poster

Matchbox car (any, but I love green)

I love reading his list!  He drew pictures this year as well, and he is labeling all his ‘diagrams’ as “that’s what palaeontologists do”.  He jumps out of bed every day to see what Charlie (our elf on the shelf) has done ‘this time’.  He asked Jason the other day (he won’t ask me!) if Charlie was real or if it was just Mummy doing it every night – he said he did not care if it was me as it was so cool, but he believed us that Charlie is real!

 

Hayden, you are so special!  I can’t wait to see what the next 12 months bring.  You are such a delight and bring so SO much joy into our lives.  You will always be my little monkey biscuit though!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

