Mother’s Day…a wrap..

Image

And so my 7th Mother’s Day is over.  It is days like Mother’s day that make me hold my head a little higher, and I try not to suck in my gut as much!  I have stretch marks – paintings my kids did when they were in my tummy (so I tell them), I have laugh lines, and I have skin that has stretched so unbelievably far with growth from pregnancy.  But you know what?  On Mother’s Day, or on any day, to my four children I am the ‘prettiest and bestest Mummy ever’.  In my kids eyes, I am the fixer of just about anything, consoler of little scrapes, ouchies and a fair referee in a fight/s.  I am apparently, the best at ‘cuddlering’ that you can be.  I have four unique, bright, quirky, and full of spunk kids.  The triplets certainly stamp their mark on just about everything, and with four kids, I am always going to be outnumbered!

Image

The other night, while Jason was away on a conference, Brendan and Emma refused to go to sleep.  It was well after 830pm.  I had smacked their bums, done all the usual ‘go to sleep’ pep talks and even sung lullabies.  Caitlyn was passed out cold – she is usually the first to give in to sleep.  On this occasion Brendan and Emma were playing chasies and just refusing sleep.  Jason is normally the big sleep enforcer, its like sending in the big guns when Daddy goes in – there is never a peep afterwards.  So, night three of no enforcer, and they have really worked out that they can pull just about anything and not get the big stern voice of Dad’s!  So, for those of you familiar with Hi 5 – there is one song “Amazing” with the opening lyrics of “Wow, what a surprise, you opened up my eyes, you really are amazing”.  This is one of Emma’s favourite shows right now.  Anyway, I smacked her bum (nappied bum for all your shocked readers who think smacking a kid is ‘bad’) and she sings, with a smile and no hesitation –

“Wow what a surprise, you smacka my bum, and it really isn’t amazing, Emma has won first prize as she really is amazing”.  I walked out, trying not to laugh, and lose it at the door.  Then hear this little sing song voice – “I can hear you laughing mummy”.  How is this not hysterical!!!

Moments like this make me realise just how quirky, cool and ever changing motherhood is.  One year ago Emma would not have had the ability to string that together.  Imagine what she will be doing in another years time?  I often wonder what all my kids will ‘be’ when they grow up.  As long as they are happy I tell them, I don’t care.  I want the world and more for my four – as I am sure all Mums do!  Hayden is dead keen on being a palaeontologist through the week and a vet, a police officer and an RSPCA carer on the weekends.  Any one of those would be fine 🙂

Caitlyn is currently a Princess, and whilst I am sure this will never be formalised, she will always be a Princess!  She is the kid that will have ‘people’ doing her stuff.  A serious delegator and negotiator!

Brendan – well this kid is the dark horse.  Gangly, fast and not as dumb as he makes out.  He will be sporty no doubt, but not sure what else he will do!

Emma – she is the kid that will come home from school and you will ask what happened today at school – her response will be along the lines of ‘ah the clouds, they are pretty’ she is an artist.  An ethereal, free spirit who finds humour in so many things and is in tune with all that goes on around her.

So, back to Mother’s day – These cards (on 4 x 6 Project Life Cardstock!!) reduced me to tears –

Image

And Hayden made a few little things also that he was so proud of (and rightly so!!!)  Loved the Mother’s Day Stall at his school – here were my gifts –

Image

Image

Handmade by Hayden 🙂  My Mother’s Day Rose 🙂

From the trio I had these absolutely gorgeous keepsakes and not surprisingly they are in birth order 🙂  Caitlyn has the biggest feet (smallest born, heaviest and tallest now!!)

Image

Then came Jason.  Fresh from a visit to Melbourne and unsupervised he completely spoiled me!  I got a lovely new watch, a scarf that Jason tells me “is all the trend this year” (guy knows more about fashion than I do!!) and this –

Image

A genuine Louis Vuitton purse.  I am under strict orders to use it and NOT put it away for ‘good’ or special occasions.  I am very nervous about this, and have a million mothers guilt thoughts, but I guess you only live once right?  I have transferred my wallet over, and am using it.  It is classic.  It is likely to be more than I can even begin to imagine, but he had a pretty strong argument.  I love my kids like there is no tomorrow.  I work my butt off to ensure they have all they need and want (though they are not spoiled rotten), and I don’t do much for myself at all.  So, use it I will.  I think it may take a few months to shed the guilt though….

The day ended with dinner at the Bronco’s Leagues Club –

Image

It is a true representation of my kids – it is so hard to get a ‘good’ photo (unless of course we go to Kate @ Baby Boo Studios).  But I would not change it for the world.

Motherhood is a double edged sword sometimes.  Some days I feel like the worst mother in the world as I am so tired, cranky and just over being outnumbered by conspiring kids….and other days (which is most) so incredibly overwhelmed at the little beings we have created and just how amazing they are.  Some days, it is just so darn good to kiss them goodnight and think about what I can now get done without little interruptions (but then feel guilty for thinking that)!

I would not change it for the world, but I wish that as mothers and even as parents, we could refrain from judging others.

I do not judge anyone’s parenting.  Every family has their own unique make up.  Ours is constant, busy, and yep, we both work.  I try to instil respect, kindness, courage and dignity in all my kids.  That and faith in each other and our family.  Truth, honesty and trust are also big.  My skills as a mother are drawn from many sources.  My mother, my friends and some other big influences in my life – my oldest friends mum’s.  Mrs C, Mrs P, Mrs A – you are all amazing!  I also teach my children consequences.  Not everything is something that you can simply press ctrl alt del on.  Life is a lesson, but not a dodgy science one – a fun, vibrant and lovely journey!  So take stock of what you have, mother or not, and enjoy this crazy ride that is life!

Happy EVERY day!

4 thoughts on “Mother’s Day…a wrap..

  1. Oh Ali, i love reading your posts. They always make me smile. Sounds like you had a wonderful Mother’s Day – you deserve it too xx

    Like

  2. Oh Ali – you are so blessed. Motherhood – what an amazing journey it is. Wouldn’t change it for the world – x

    Like

Leave a Reply

