Create…

Happy Wednesday, and happy new year!  2013, a brand new year, with hundreds of days of opportunity 🙂

I rang in the new year at work – someone has to do it right?  Night shift on New Years’s – only a nurse/ambo/police officer/doctor truly ‘gets’ it!  I looked after the most wonderful gentleman – he was critically unwell, but had the most wonderful attitude.  His comment to me at 7am – I made his new year lovely, by acknowledging it to him, smiling, and being so kind.  I love nursing, and I always will, but I forget how much of an impact you can make on one person in 8 hours.  I still think that there is really no other field I could be in – nursing is such a big part of me!

Hello 2013 & farewell 2012!

Hello 2013 & farewell 2012!

So, a very big goodbye to 2012.  2012 was such a big year! It was a very eventful year that is for sure, and I am hopeful, as I guess we all are on New Years day or the day after, that 2013 will bring much joy!  I have given up with new years resolutions, as every year, I feel as though I don’t achieve all of the resolutions or I get sidetracked.  I have instead, thought of one word that I can focus on for the whole year and see how thinking about things a little differently can lead to better outcomes.  There idea about one word was from the Happiness Project – a thoughtful and wonderful Christmas present I received this year.  I have read only the first chapter, but was totally gobsmacked by this –

“As I looked out the blurry bus window, I saw two figures cross the street – a woman about my age trying simultaneously to balance an umbrella, look at her cell phone, and push a stroller carrying a yellow-slicked child.  The sight gave me a jolt of recognition – that’s me.  I thought, there I am.  I have a stroller, a cell phone, an alarm clock, an apartment, a neighbourhood.  Right now, I am riding the same crosstown bus that I take across the park, back and forth.  This is my life – but I never give any thought to it.

“Is this really it?” I found myself wondering, and answering, ‘yep, this is it’.  But though at times I felt dissatisfied, that something was missing, I also never forgot how fortunate I was.  When I woke up in the middle of the night, as I often did, I’d walk from one room to another to gaze at my sleeping husband tangled in the sheets and my daughters surrounded by their stuffed animals, all safe.  I had everything I could possible want – yet I was failing to appreciate it.  Bogged down in petty complaints and passing crises, wearing of struggling with my own nature, I too often failed to comprehend the splendour of what I have” (Gretchen Rubin, 2009, p2).

I was amazed at the similarities and honestly felt that I could have written the very same paragraph!  (except not as well, and using Pram, Mobile etc….)  I was taken aback by how much I likely do take for granted and now fail to appreciate. Every day, well almost every day, seems to be a unique juggling act around the kids, work and chores.  With these ‘tasks’ in the forefront of my mind, I do think I over look the  day to day things, but still things I should be thankful for!  I guess being stupidly busy does take its toll sometimes and the smaller things become less significant as we overlook them.  I often get asked how I fit everything in, and how I manage with not just triplets but a five year old.  Truth is, I don’t know any different!  I think this is why I am seeking for more malleable and achievable goals.  Little steps, to fit in with my already crammed day!

 

On January 31, I completed the Project 365 – I took a photo a day for a whole year!  I am actually really glad I stuck it out, and really impressed with what I see.  There are so many seemingly little things in those months and days that I would have otherwise not recorded remembered or even thought of!  The comparison’s between months in watching the kids grow and develop is amazing!  It is also quite lovely to see the smaller things like little changes to our house and the before and after photos!  This was how December ended up –

Goodbye December!

Goodbye December!

 

So, looking back over December alone, I can see how time poor I am most of the time (no intentional play on words there!!).  I put a great deal of thought into what I want to achieve this year – with all my hats on – mummy, wife, friend, etc.  What I want is to create.  So create is my word.  I want to create opportunities, meaning, organisation, routine and fun!  I know I cannot make more time, but I can create ways to make more of my time.  Focusing immediately on what takes up my time is clear – kids and work.  Can’t get rid of either of those (one is illegal, and second would mean no home!) so I need to make a way to better allow me to best use my time.  I am excellent at To-Do lists and figure that this can play in well.  I have bought a teacher’s diary to map out my teaching and keep the hours under control.  I am fixing in times each day as set times so that I am more bound to my hours as opposed to keeping myself completely open and working over the top.  This is a big step for me.  Emails can wait 24 hours.  The world will not end! Working from home does have its disadvantages, but for me, right now, it is still an excellent option.  I just need to be strict with myself and schedule the time.  Create a timetable that is healthy for me!

 

Create a fitness timetable that is achievable so that I am not disappointed in myself, or think that the treadmill is yet again glaring at me.  Jason & I have 2 scheduled PT sessions a week, both one hour.  I think we will be ramping this up to 3 per week as we are completing the Tough Mudder in August at the Sunshine Coast.  This is a MASSIVE event for us and really highlights the commitment we have put into our health and fitness.  A year ago neither of us would have been able to do a 5 minute jog, let alone an event like this!

 

Creating a balance – comes back to time, but I need to make the time to see the people I love more often!  There are so many people I am missing right now!  It hit me on new year’s eve how little I have seen of many of my friends recently – the silly season seemingly overtook my time as well!  I need to create more opportunities to see my friends!  I have become so entrenched with my routine that I could not see the forest for the trees!  I can change when I do the groceries or any other chore – and that is exactly what I am going to do.  Monthly BBQ’s, picnics or coffee catch ups are in order, and I just need to  schedule the time in so it is not another thing to juggle.  I work best with a routine!!

 

And finally, the other big area, would be creating – craft.  I have decided that this year I am going to complete  Project Life . Created by Becky Higgins, it is a very simplified but gorgeous way to capture and record your day, week and year. Using only the products in the core kit, a pen and your photos.  No searching for the perfect embellishment!  It is just gorgeous!  I have ordered my core kit and am busting for it to arrive.

 

So, 2013, you are going to be good!  You are going to be great!  I will focus on creating, rather than “I will lose 10kgs”, or some random resolution; and will seek out happiness, balance and joy.  Good intentions never last I hear you say?  Well, time will tell, but right now, it’s baby steps.  Change is always difficult when it involves accepting what you have done or not done – change is raw, honest and well, brutal, sometimes.  So, wish me luck, and I will keep you posted 🙂

Happy New Year!

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Create…

  1. Love the Calendar. Balance I believe, is most important. When my three were little, life was a chaotic juggling act till I took stock and balanced the inevitable with the attainable – I returned to work and therefore gained a little of ‘me’ back. It wasn’t easy, they still all wanted a piece of me, ever increasing as they got older. It really shakes the sanity steaks but I did survive (not sane though….) hang in there, your friends are your lifeline x

    Like

Leave a Reply

